/ News / 20 excellence awards handed to the participants of the project « 50 ...

20 excellence awards handed to the participants of the project "50 jeunes engagés pour le climat"

The Chief Scientist of Québec, Rémi Quirion, is pleased to announce the names of the winners of the excellence awards for the project "50 jeunes engagés pour le climat".

The main objective of the project was to create and mobilize a network of young Francophones committed to supporting and informing climate action in their respective countries. The candidates participated in a series of collaborative activities and trainings during the summer. Prizes of $1,000 are awarded to 20 young people from 14 countries who have shown remarkable involvement in the project so far. The initiative was supported by the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie via the Institut de la Francophonie pour le développement durable, the Secrétariat à la jeunesse du Québec, Global Affairs Canada, the ministère de l'Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques, the Agence Universitaire de la Francophonie and the Offices Jeunesse Internationaux du Québec.

"I would like to congratulate the winners of the excellence awards as well as all the participants of the project," said Mr. Quirion. "The youth’s contribution is essential in the fight against climate change, so I encourage the network to build on the skills and knowledge acquired during this series of activities and to continue its work in regards to climate action."

Award winners

Abenan Marie-Ange Bénédicte Saleye
Ivory Coast

Alizée Girard
Canada - Québec

Benazir Hilali
United Kingdom

Charles-Olivier Parent
Canada - Québec

Divin Arnaud Kouebatouka

Fiston Bisimwa

Gabriela Quintela Do Carmo
Canada – USA

Gregory Obiang Ndong

Hamdani Said Yassir

Lauren Touchant

Mame Adama Sarr

Marianne Renauld Robitaille
Canada - Québec

Marie-Esther Poivre

Mathilde Souchon
New Caledonia

Omar Khalifa

Oureratou Ouedraogo
Burkina Faso

Roël Houdanon

Stephanie Njiomo Tchoumi

Théodora Elise Mbome Mapoko EPSE Wang Abwa

Yoan Bourgoin

For more information on the initiative (French only)


Gabrielle Gagnon
Special Projects Advisor
Fonds de recherche du Québec