From left to right and top to bottom : Nicholas Cotton, Julien Chapdelaine, Jean-Christophe Bélisle-Pipon, Annie Montpetit, Ariane Girard, Dorothée Charest Belzile, Simon Massé, Madison Rilling, Olivier Lemieux and Stéphanie Luna.


CIE members

  • Jean-Christophe Bélisle-Pipon, Acting Director (postdoctoral fellow, Harvard University) – Since 2014
    Member of the Fonds de recherche du Québec – Santé Board of Directors
  • Olivier Lemieux, Outgoing President (Doctor in Administration & Politics of Education, Université Laval) – Since 2014
    Member of the Fonds de recherche du Québec – Société et culture Board of Directors
  • Madison Rilling, Vice-President (PhD student in Physics, Université Laval) – Since 2016
    Member of the Fonds de recherche du Québec – Nature et technologies Board of Directors
  • Dorothée Charest Belzile (PhD student in Psychology, Université Laval) – Since 2016
  • Marie-Pierre Cossette, outgoing President, (PhD student in Neuroscience, Concordia University) – Since 2014
  • Nicholas Cotton (PhD student in Francophone Literature, Université de Montréal) – Since 2017
  • Francis Houde (PhD student in Radiations Sciences and Biomedical Imaging, Université de Sherbrooke) – Since 2019
  • Judy Lafrenière (PhD student in Land Planning and Regional Development, Université Laval) – Since 2019
  • Stéphanie Luna (PhD student in Biomedical Sciences, Université de Montréal) – Since 2017
  • Simon Massé (PhD student in Environmental Sciences, Université du Québec à Rimouski) – Since 2016
  • Josée Maurais (PhD student in Physical Chemistry, Université de Sherbrooke) – Since 2019
  • Annie Montpetit (PhD student in Applied Social Sciences, Université du Québec en Outaouais) – Since 2017
  • Julie Morin-Rivat (postdoctoral fellow, Université du Québec à Rimouski) – Since 2018
  • Samuel Turcotte, erg. (PhD student in Clinical and Biomedical Sciences, Université Laval) – Since 2019


Coordination of the CIE

  • Sarah Bitter (Analyste de la planification stratégique et à l’information, FRQ)


CIE President’s Messages


Outgoing member of the CIE

  • Jérôme Gélinas Bélanger (Master’s student in Vegetal Sciences, McGill University) – 2018
  • Ariane Girard, RN, (PhD student in Health Sciences Research, Université de Sherbrooke) – 2017 to 2018
  • Simon Massé (PhD student in Environmental Sciences, Université du Québec à Rimouski) – 2016 to 2018


Former members of the CIE

  • Sylvie Fortier (Education Sciences, UQAR) – 2014 to 2017
  • Louis-François Brodeur (Administration, HEC) – 2014 to 2016
  • Hélène Saint-Jacques (Environmental Sciences, UQAM) – 2014 to 2015
  • Madalina Surcel (Atmospheric Sciences, McGill University) – 2014 to 2015
  • Marie-Sol Poirier (Clinical Sciences, Université de Sherbrooke) – 2014 to 2015
  • Julien Chapdelaine (Former Coordinator of the CIÉ) – 2014 to 2018
  • Flavie Lemay (Social Work, Université du Québec en Outaouais) – 2018



Every year, the CIE carries out a recruitment campaign in order to surround itself with students from different backgrounds willing to contribute their experience and dynamism to the many activities of the committee. The committee is made up of three student representatives serving on the three boards of directors of the FRQ along with Master’s and PhD students and postdoctoral fellows from the student community (award holders or not). This annual recruitment is aimed at putting together a bank of candidates interested in contributing to the work of the committee or following its activities. Various positions may soon need to be filled within the committee itself and its sub-committees.

Consult the 2017-2018 recruitment notice.