Demographic change and aging

The demographic evolution seen in Western countries brings significant challenges. Our populations are aging, especially here in Québec. In fact, only in Japan is the average age so high. In Québec, migration flows have become the main source of population growth. These changes have significant repercussions on the evolution of Québec society, land use planning, local economies, types of housing, the labour market, the organization of living environments, workforce availability (especially in the regions), as well as health services, long-term care systems and public finances.

Such changes demand new balances and a rethinking of working life and our physical environments in order to facilitate the social participation of the entire population. They also call for a different approach to relationships between generations, and are therefore of concern to the field of social innovation. Québec is well positioned to secure and advance the competitiveness of its research on aging, lifelong human development, new intergenerational dynamics, and the design of inclusive environments for all members of the population.

Clearly, demographic change is a priority challenge to be addressed, as it engages the scientific community, government action, the business community and society. The main issue is to thoroughly understand the effects of sociodemographic change and the factors that help citizens reach their full potential from early childhood into old age, and mobilize stakeholders from all fields in order to better meet the needs of individuals, families and communities and, above all, to provide solutions that are appropriate to the Québec context. In short, the research community can bring innovative solutions to Québec society through the application of an intersectoral approach, and ensure that we collectively benefit from demographic change rather than passively enduring its negative effects.

Changements démographiques et vieillissement

L’évolution démographique observée dans les pays occidentaux annonce des défis importants. Les populations sont vieillissantes, notamment celle du Québec. Les mouvements migratoires sont devenus la principale source d’accroissement de la population. Ces changements ont des répercussions importantes sur l’évolution de la société québécoise, l’aménagement de son territoire, l’économie locale, les modes d’habitation, le marché du travail, l’organisation des environnements de vie, la disponibilité de la main-d’œuvre, surtout en région, ainsi que sur les services de santé, les systèmes de soins de longue durée et les finances publiques.

De tels changements exigent l’atteinte de nouveaux équilibres et supposent une conception différente de la vie active et de nos environnements physiques afin de faciliter la participation sociale de l’ensemble de la population. Ils supposent aussi une approche différente des relations entre les générations et c’est tout le champ de l’innovation sociale qui se trouve ainsi interpellé. Or, le Québec est bien positionné pour assurer et faire progresser la compétitivité de la recherche sur le vieillissement, le développement humain tout au long de sa vie, les nouvelles dynamiques intergénérationnelles et la conception d’environnements inclusifs pour l’ensemble de la population.

Manifestement, les changements démographiques constituent un des grands défis à relever en priorité, car il engage à la fois la communauté scientifique, l’action gouvernementale, le milieu entrepreneurial et la société. L’enjeu principal en est de bien saisir les effets des changements sociodémographiques, de comprendre les facteurs favorisant le plein épanouissement des populations, de la petite enfance à la vieillesse, et de mobiliser les acteurs issus de tous les domaines pour mieux répondre aux besoins des personnes, des familles et des communautés, et surtout apporter des solutions appropriées au contexte québécois. En somme, la communauté de recherche peut apporter à la société québécoise des solutions innovantes, et ce, dans une perspective intersectorielle, et faire en sorte que l’on tire profit collectivement des changements démographiques.

Personne-ressource : Denise Pérusse, directrice aux défis de société et aux maillages intersectoriels